Spring Break Fun and #Sketch50

I didn’t realize how much I needed a break until it came! It has been such a wonderful and restful week with my family. We spent some time out in the woods up at the cabin this week. It was still pretty snowy up there but we got to spend some quality time with each other and with some good friends!IMG_9873

We also got quite a bit done in our front yard. So thankful for the last few days of great weather! It’s been such a long winter here that we haven’t had time to get out in the yard and fix it up! It feels so good to get going on it. Now we just have our backyard to do…..which is unfortunately a BIGGER job than the front….but we are making progress!

Not only do I enjoy all of the time with my family and working around the house, but I also very much enjoy the time that I get to reflect, revise, and plan my way forward. Breaks are such a wonderful time to reflect on my practices in the classroom. How have I been doing? What is working? What is not and how can I change it or ditch it? I also take advantage of this time that I have to continue my learning and connect with other educators. I love learning during a break because it gives me time to process my learning and plan how I might utilize what I’ve learned in the classroom. One great example is my recent participation in #Sketch50 on Twitter. It’s just what it sounds like! 50 sketches in 50 days! Each day I check @Sketch_50 on Twitter for the daily topic then I sit down and sketch. Once I’m done, I post it on Twitter with the hashtag and tag some of my friends. I’ve also started a Padlet to watch the development of my sketches over time. It is so cool to look at the progression already in just six days!

Made with Padlet

I’ve been doing sketchnotes with my students in the classroom since the fall. It has been so amazing to see how excited my students get when I tell them that we are going to be sketchnoting our story for the week. It’s also amazing because it reaches many of my students who are not normally engaged especially in reading. With third graders I stick to paper and pencil on day one and then we go back to it on day two to add color. This way students are able to focus on one piece at a time. When we are done, we take pictures of our work and post them to Seesaw in our digital journals.

 

Leave a Reply

