Our First Twitter Chat was a Success!

We hosted our first Twitter chat ever this morning as a class! As part of EdCamp Global Classrooms we hosted a Twitter Chat on Creation Apps in the Elementary Classroom. You can catch the Storify here.

It was such a new experience for me and totally out of the realm of what we normally do in the classroom! It took me a very LONG time to jump into the Twitter world to begin with. I definitely was not a fan and was usually found saying, “I don’t want to know what everyone had for breakfast!” in response to anyone who asked why I wasn’t on Twitter. After probably the 10th time that one of my techy friends told me I NEEDED to be on Twitter, I decided to try it out. I made an account and followed a few education people but didn’t really have focus and so I lost interest in it very quickly. About 6 months later I was reading a blog post about how wonderful Twitter was for this person’s professional development. Sadly, I can’t remember who it was or where I read it. 😦 Anyhow, I decided to give it a go one more time only this time with a more focused intent: Ed Tech.

I ONLY followed people who were Ed Tech Bloggers, Ed Tech Teachers/Coaches, and the Apps that I really liked to use in my classroom. Suddenly I saw what everyone had been talking about: the amazing personal learning community that I can create for myself! I can now say that Twitter is the SINGLE BEST thing I have done for my own professional development since I started teaching. I have learned so much from all of the amazing educators and Ed Tech gurus, I have connected with teachers and classes from all over the world, and I’ve been able to bring something into the classroom that not only engages students but connects them on a global level!

It have definitely come a long way in the world of Twitter and I feel that I have so much further to go! Today I can now say that I have successfully hosted my first Twitter chat and I can’t wait for more!

Follow my class @ereroom9  or me @hmarrs24

We are hoping to have more #room9chat in the future!

Leave a Reply

