Handouts

Handouts App

H8.PNGI can’t believe it’s already March! This school year is going by so quickly. For so many reasons this year has been better than others. First, I have an amazing class! Some classes just gel better and my class this year is seriously wonderful! Another reason is that I’ve been able to use our class set of mini iPads more this year. I am a huge tech fan and I always have been!

One of my favorite apps that I have discovered this year is the Handouts app. Handouts is an amazing workflow app that has made my life so much easier!! Work smarter, not harder!!

First, you sign up with your educator email. Then you have your students sign up either with the class code or with their email and password.

You can then add assignments by taking a picture of the assignment, import it from Google Drive or Dropbox, use a screenshot, or a picture that you can access in your photo library. After you add the assignment, you can

IMG_0273.PNGpush it out to your entire class, certain groups, or individual students. 

Students then have two options to show their work: the pencil option which offers many different color and size options or the text box which offers students the ability to change the color and font. When students are finished, they return it to you with the click of a button and all of the assignments show up in your inbox in the app!! So now instead of taking stacks of homework home, I take my iPad and can grade anywhere, anytime!! This really meant a lot to me since I have two young children and almost no time to do any grading. Not only can you grade the students’ work but you can also make notes and provide feedback directly to the student through the app.

Here is a link to a Keynote presentation walking you through the steps to sign up and get started!! I hope that you enjoy using Handouts as much as I do!

For more info on Handouts go to their website at http://handouts.in/

Until next time,

Heather

4 thoughts on “Handouts

  1. Hi Heather.
    Have you ever used google classroom, how would you compare each?
    Does this do a better job for you?
    Great resource share, thank you.
    Simon

    Like

    • Simon,
      I actually use both Handouts and Google Classroom on a regular basis. I feel like I need both as they fulfill different needs in the classroom. I like that I can attach links and Google forms (which I use for multiple choice assessments) on Classroom but I can use my current curriculum and handout assignments to specific groups or individuals on Handouts. I hope that answers your question!
      -Heather

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Announcement! | The Techy Teacher

Leave a Reply

